mail route. In addition, the Premier receives a salary of \$15,000 and each Member of the Executive Council \$12,500. The Leader of the Opposition has a special allowance of \$3,500 for expenses and the Speaker and Deputy Speaker receive a special allowance of \$3,500 and \$1,000 respectively.

23.—Legislatures and Premiers of British Columbia 1933-57 and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1957

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Nov. 2, 1933 ² June 1, 1937 Oct. 21, 1941 Oct. 25, 1945 June 12, 1952 June 2, 1953 Sept. 19, 1956	18th 19th 20th 21st	4 5 4 5 4 1 4 3	Feb. 20, 1934 Oct. 26, 1937 Dec. 4, 1941 Feb. 21, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950 Feb. 3, 1953 Sept. 15, 1953 Feb. 7, 1957	Apr. 15, 1937 July 22, 1941 Aug. 31, 1945 Apr. 16, 1949 Apr. 10, 1952 Mar. 27, 1953 Aug. 13, 1956 ³

¹ The Ministries from 1933-57 were: 22nd Ministry sworn in Nov. 15, 1933 under the leadership of Hon. T. D. Patullo; 23rd Ministry sworn in Dec. 9, 1941 under the leadership of Hon. John Hart; 24th Ministry sworn in Dec. 29, 1947 under the leadership of Hon. B. I. Johnson; 25th Ministry sworn in Aug. 1, 1952 under the leadership of Hon. W. A. C. Bennett. ² Owing to the death of a candidate, polling day was delayed in the Electoral Districts of Vancouver Centre and Victoria City until Nov. 27, 1933. ³ Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1957.

Twenty-Fifth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Sept. 19, 1956: 39 Social Credit, 10 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 2 Liberals, 1 Labour.)

NOTE.—See	e headnote	to Tab	le 15.
-----------	------------	--------	--------

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council, Minister of Finance, and Minister of Agriculture Provincial Secretary and Minister of Muni- cipal Affairs Attorney-General and Minister of Industrial Development, Trade and Commerce Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Highways. Minister of Highways. Minister of Helphways. Minister of Heduta and Welfare Minister of Health and Welfare Minister of Public Works Minister of Recreation and Conservation	Hon, WILIAM ANDREW CECIL BENNETT	Aug. 1, 1952 Aug. 1, 1952 Aug. 1, 1952 Apr. 14, 1954 Aug. 1, 1952 Aug. 1, 1952 Aug. 1, 1952 Aug. 1, 1952 Sept. 27, 1956 Mar. 15, 1955 Sept. 27, 1956	Aug. 1, 1952 Aug. 1, 1952 Aug. 1, 1952 Feb. 28, 1956 Feb. 28, 1956 Mar. 15, 1955 Aug. 1, 1952 Sept. 27, 1956 Aug. 1, 1952 Mar. 15, 1955 Mar. 28, 1957

Subsection 11.-Yukon and Northwest Territories

Yukon Territory.—The Yukon was created a separate Territory in June 1898. Provision is made for a local Government composed of a Chief Executive, styled Commissioner, and an elective Legislative Council of five members with a three year tenure of office. The Commissioner administers the Government under instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Commissioner in Council has power to make ordinances dealing with the imposition of local taxes, sale of liquor, preservation of game, establishment of territorial offices, maintenance of prisons and municipal institutions, issue of licences, incorporation of companies, solemnization of marriage, property and civil rights, administration of justice and generally all matters of a local nature in the Territory. The seat of local government is at Whitehorse, Yukon Territory.

Legislatures 1933-571